Anthony Baggott Cup

A large crowd turned out to support this year’s Anthony Baggott Cup. Despite the damp conditions, the crowd were treated to a very competitive tournament which featured Herbertstown NS, Hospital NS, Barna NS and the holders Knockainey NS.

The round robin portion of the tournament went as follows:


Round 1

Knockainey NS edged a closely fought encounter with Herbertstown NS to emerge as 2 point victors.

In the other game, Hospital NS produced a clinical display to defeat Barna NS.


Round 2

Herbertstown picked up their first victory of the day with a win over Barna NS.

Knockainey NS had too much firepower for a gallant Hospital NS team in their game.


Round 3

Barna NS produced their best performance in the last round of the group and picked up a 1 point win against Knockainey NS.

In what was effectively a ‘semi-final’, Herbertstown NS had to fight to the very last minute to see off Hospital NS and set up a final meeting with Knockainey.



A couple of early Knockainey NS points gave them the advantage but when Herbertstown captain Adam Boyle powered home a goal his side went into the lead. Adam, Seán Murnane and Aaron Hanley were now fighting hard in the middle third and their ability to win possession was setting up attacks further up the field. One such attack was finished to the net following great build up play by Patrick Bermingham and Aisling Farrell. At half time, Herbertstown NS held a 4 point advantage.


In the second half Knockainey NS battled hard to try to retain their title, but with Jack O’Sullivan, Ross Winship and Declan Ryan McNamara in fine form, Herbertstown were holding on. Some cool moments under pressure from goalkeeper Ryan Hanley in the closing stages ensured Herbertstown would see out the game and secure what was a memorable victory.

Full time: Herbertstown NS 2.06 Knockainey 2.02

Full Herbertstown squad, with all players featuring during the tournament: Ryan Hanley, Jack O’Sullivan, Ross Winship, Declan Ryan McNamara, Aaron Hanley, Sean Murnane, Aisling Farrell, Adam Boyle, Euan Hickey, Jack Gleeson, Stephen Ryan, Michael Keane, Colm Bermingham, Liam Bermingham, Tadhg O’Connell, Ryan Siebert, Sean Hennessy, Liam Gleeson


A number of prizes were given out following the game. The prizes were kindly donated by Hospital/Herbertstown GAA.


Rising Star Award

This award went to a Darragh O’Sullivan, who played in the junior & senior infant game at half time in the final.


Give Respect, Get Respect Award

David Curtin – Barna NS


Most Improved Player Award

Scott Sheehan – Hospital NS


Best Young Player

Declan Ryan McNamara- Herbertstown NS


Player of the Tournament

Eoin Cleary – Knockainey NS


Man of the Match (final)

Adam Boyle – Herbertstown NS


Eileen Baggott then presented the  Anthony Baggott Cup to her grandson and Herbertstown NS captain Adam Boyle.


All players and supporters enjoyed the vast array of cakes, buns and sandwiches which were provided by the Parents’ Association. Sincere thanks to everyone who made the day a success.