Anthony Baggott Cup 2018

The annual festival of hurling which culminates with the presentation of the Anthony Baggott Cup took place today in Herbertstown.


The host school were joined by neighbours Hospital NS, Knockainey NS and Caherline NS in a round robin where each school played each other. Following these close fought games, Caherline NS and Knockainey NS advanced to the final.


A parade led by Kathleen Fitzgerald, a piper from the Liam Lynch Memorial Pipe Band, took place before the final. Caherline, who were crowned East champions 24 hours previous, showed their class to beat the South Champions Knockainey.

Following the final, Eileen Baggott presented the Anthony Baggott Memorial Cup to the Caherline captain. Prizes were also presented by Herbertstown NS principal Carmel Heelan to the players adjudged to be Rising Stars from each panel. Congratulations to Caherline NS who are now champions for 2 years in a row.

Anthony Baggott Cup 2017

Caherline NS claim victory in annual Anthony Baggott Memorial Cup


The 2017 installment of the Anthony Baggott Memorial Cup was full of excitement as Herbertstown NS, Hospital NS, Knockainey NS and Caherline NS produced some wonderful hurling. Caherline NS, participating in the event for the first time, claimed early wins against Hospital NS and Knockainey NS which booked them passage to the final. The holders, Herbertstown NS, also claimed a spot in the final thanks to victories over the same opposition.



There was a fantastic atmosphere during the final as both teams played out a thrilling contest. Many of those present mentioned the high skill level amongst the players and also the sporting nature of the game. Herbertstown looked to be on their way to victory but two late goals from Caherline swung the contest in their favour. Shortly after the final whistle Eileen Baggott presented the cup to the Caherline captain.


Thank you to all those who helped to make the day a success.



For a gallery of fantastic photographs, please visit Sport Action Photography’s Facebook page:

Anthony Baggott Cup

A large crowd turned out to support this year’s Anthony Baggott Cup. Despite the damp conditions, the crowd were treated to a very competitive tournament which featured Herbertstown NS, Hospital NS, Barna NS and the holders Knockainey NS.

The round robin portion of the tournament went as follows:


Round 1

Knockainey NS edged a closely fought encounter with Herbertstown NS to emerge as 2 point victors.

In the other game, Hospital NS produced a clinical display to defeat Barna NS.


Round 2

Herbertstown picked up their first victory of the day with a win over Barna NS.

Knockainey NS had too much firepower for a gallant Hospital NS team in their game.


Round 3

Barna NS produced their best performance in the last round of the group and picked up a 1 point win against Knockainey NS.

In what was effectively a ‘semi-final’, Herbertstown NS had to fight to the very last minute to see off Hospital NS and set up a final meeting with Knockainey.



A couple of early Knockainey NS points gave them the advantage but when Herbertstown captain Adam Boyle powered home a goal his side went into the lead. Adam, Seán Murnane and Aaron Hanley were now fighting hard in the middle third and their ability to win possession was setting up attacks further up the field. One such attack was finished to the net following great build up play by Patrick Bermingham and Aisling Farrell. At half time, Herbertstown NS held a 4 point advantage.


In the second half Knockainey NS battled hard to try to retain their title, but with Jack O’Sullivan, Ross Winship and Declan Ryan McNamara in fine form, Herbertstown were holding on. Some cool moments under pressure from goalkeeper Ryan Hanley in the closing stages ensured Herbertstown would see out the game and secure what was a memorable victory.

Full time: Herbertstown NS 2.06 Knockainey 2.02

Full Herbertstown squad, with all players featuring during the tournament: Ryan Hanley, Jack O’Sullivan, Ross Winship, Declan Ryan McNamara, Aaron Hanley, Sean Murnane, Aisling Farrell, Adam Boyle, Euan Hickey, Jack Gleeson, Stephen Ryan, Michael Keane, Colm Bermingham, Liam Bermingham, Tadhg O’Connell, Ryan Siebert, Sean Hennessy, Liam Gleeson


A number of prizes were given out following the game. The prizes were kindly donated by Hospital/Herbertstown GAA.


Rising Star Award

This award went to a Darragh O’Sullivan, who played in the junior & senior infant game at half time in the final.


Give Respect, Get Respect Award

David Curtin – Barna NS


Most Improved Player Award

Scott Sheehan – Hospital NS


Best Young Player

Declan Ryan McNamara- Herbertstown NS


Player of the Tournament

Eoin Cleary – Knockainey NS


Man of the Match (final)

Adam Boyle – Herbertstown NS


Eileen Baggott then presented the  Anthony Baggott Cup to her grandson and Herbertstown NS captain Adam Boyle.


All players and supporters enjoyed the vast array of cakes, buns and sandwiches which were provided by the Parents’ Association. Sincere thanks to everyone who made the day a success.


Anthony Baggott Cup 2015

The Anthony Baggott Memorial Cup competition took place on Friday June 12th in Herbertstown. The well attended event saw 3 south teams, Herbertstown NS, Knockainey NS and Hospital NS joined by East representatives Barna NS to compete for the cup. There were many close contests before a final pairing of Hospital NS and Knockainey NS was decided.

In the final, a fine Knockainey NS team proved just too strong for Hospital NS who were impressive in their run to the final.