South Hurling Final

Our hurling team produced an outstanding display to capture the South hurling title today in Martinstown.


Herbertstown NS 4.04 Ballyagran NS 2.02


This game was played in glorious sunshine in Martinstown with both teams supported by a large crowd. The first half started off tentatively, with a couple of early well taken frees by Seán Murnane and Aaron Hanley settling nerves. Herbertstown started to take control of proceedings and the first goal of the game came courtesy of a long delivery from midfield which ended up in the Ballyagran net. Following this a barnstorming run from Adam Boyle rattled the net once again. The backs too were playing their part and an outstanding save from Ryan Hanley ensured Herbertstown kept a clean sheet in the first half. Some tenacious defending from corner back Declan Ryan McNamara was also key to this.


Halt time score 3.03 to 0.00.


In the second half Ballyagran upped the ante and came back into the game with a well taken goal from play and a penalty. Herbertstown were not to be outdone and a strong defensive performance from Ross Winship, coupled with the hard work of forwards Patrick Bermingham and Euan Hickey stemmed the Ballyagran tide. Aisling Farrell was introduced in the second half which brought renewed energy to the team at a vital stage. With Ballyagran pressing in the final moments, full back Jack O’Sullivan made two telling blocks when a goal looked like the more likely outcome. The influential Seán Murnane worked tirelessly alongside captain Aaron Hanley right to the final whistle.


There were great scenes of celebration as Aaron lifted the cup, which was presented by a gracious Ballyagran principal Diarmuid Carroll. Well done to all the team and squad who have been training since February and today’s win was just reward for their efforts.



Aaron Hanley, Ross Winship, Jack O’Sullivan, Declan Ryan McNamara, Seán Murnane, Aaron Hanley, Euan Hickey, Adam Boyle, Patrick Bermingham, Aisling Farrell, Jack Gleeson, Stephen Ryan, Colm Bermingham, Liam Bermingham, Michael Keane, Ryan Siebert,